Scientific Advisory Board

Professor David Wraith, PhD; Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board

Professor David Wraith is the CSO and founder of Apitope. He is a world leading research immunologist with over 25 years’ experience and has authored over 120 articles in peer reviewed scientific journals.

David was the Head of the Department of Pathology & Microbiology at the University of Bristol from 1996-2004. He has been awarded research fellowships by the MRC (UK), National MS Society (USA), Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge and the Wellcome Trust. He has been a member of SABs for TEVA, GSK and Peptide Therapeutics; expert advisor to Hoffman La Roche on autoimmune therapeutics; expert advisor to the DTI on Stem Cell Therapies and to the Food Standards Agency on Peanut Allergy; current member of the MRC Infections and Immunity Board; past member of research grant panels for Arthritis Research UK, MS Society, NIH, NKRF and the Wellcome Trust.

Professor John Isaacs

John Isaacs is Professor of Rheumatology at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne, a leading authority on the immunology of rheumatoid arthritis and clinical trials of novel immune therapies.

Professor Piet Stinissen

Piet Stinissen is Professor of Immunology at the Faculty of Medicine and School of Life Sciences at Hasselt University and guest professor at the University of Antwerp. He is also Dean of the faculty of Medicine, Chairman of the Biomedical Research Institute (BIOMED) and head of the Immunology and Biochemistry laboratory at Hasselt University. BIOMED is a research institute of UHasselt with a staff of 120 researchers and technicians.

His team focuses on the mechanisms involved in immune activation, regulation and homeostasis in autoimmunity, the identification of new biomarkers and the development of new immunotherapeutic strategies for multiple sclerosis. He is also chairman of LifeTechLimburg and board member of NV Life Sciences Development Campus, two organisations that promote and support regional life sciences development.

Chris Moyses MA, MB, BChir, MRCP, FFPM, DM

Dr. Chris Moyses is currently chairman of Senexis Ltd and has served on the boards of several biotech companies. He was formerly Chief Executive Officer of NeuroDiscovery Group, a listed Australian company and prior to that Chief Medical Officer of Argenta Discovery, R&D Director of Pharmagene plc and Chief Medical Officer and Executive Director of Oxford GlycoSciences plc with responsibility all drug development activities.

Prior to joining OGS in 1996, he was vice-president of clinical and regulatory affairs (Europe) for Amylin Pharmaceuticals Inc., and previously held posts with G.D. Searle and ICI Pharmaceuticals. He qualified in medicine at the University of Cambridge in 1979 and carried out research in physiology at the University of Oxford.

Colin Dayan, MA MBBS, FRCP, PhD

Colin Dayan trained in medicine at University College, Oxford, and Guy’s and Charing Cross Hospitals in London, UK, before obtaining a PhD in the immunology of Graves’ disease. He then spent a year as an endocrine fellow at the Massachussetts General Hospital in Boston, USA before completing his specialist training in diabetes and endocrinology as a Lecturer in Bristol. He has been a consultant senior lecturer in medicine (diabetes/endocrinology) at the University of Bristol since 1995 and Head of Clinical Research at the Henry Wellcome Laboratories for Integrative Neuroscience and Endocrinology in Bristol since 2002.

He is Director of the 8-bed Joint Clinical Research Unit at the Bristol Royal Infirmary (BRI) and also Director of the Bristol Clinical Research and Imaging Centre opening in 2010. He has been principle investigator on many investigator-led clinical trials ranging from Phase I first-in-man studies to large multicentre randomised trials recruiting over 500 subjects.

His research interests include the immunotherapy of Type 1 diabetes, diet and exercise effects in Type 2 diabetes and thyroid hormone replacement therapy. As a clinical diabetologist, he holds regular diabetes and endocrine clinics at BRI and is consultant in charge of the South Bristol insulin pump service.